Meenmutty Waterfalls


Located on the Ooty main road in the Wayanad district of Kerala, Meenmutty Waterfalls is about 29 km away from Kalpetta. This waterfall is the largest waterfall in Wayanad and the second largest one in Kerala. This waterfall has a height of 300 metres and has the most spectacular and unspoiled natural setting. An interesting aspect of this waterfall is that it’s a three-tier waterfall. The water dropping from 1,000 feet flows through three layers.

The Meenmutty waterfalls are an excellent place to trek. During the dry seasons, one can get a closer look at the falls. But, during the monsoon season, getting too close to the waterfalls can be dangerous due to high water inflow. To reach the Meenmutty Waterfalls one has to trek through the jungle for about 2 km.

Since, the place is ideal for trekking; it is famous among adventure seekers. Providing picturesque views of nature, Meenmutty falls also attracts a large number of photo addicts. The best time to visit Meenmutty waterfall is from the months October to May. The waterfall is considered to be a dangerous spot, and so one must be careful while playing in the waters.

The name Meenmutty is a combination of two Malayalam words. ‘Meen’ meaning fish and ‘mutty’ meaning blocked. Thus Meenmutty is the place where fish gets blocked. Each tier of the waterfall has to be trekked separately.

Related Articles

room 3
Jain Temples

The Jain Temple is just 2 km from Sulthan Bathery in the Wayanad district of Kerala. Built entirely of stones, this temple was constructed in Jain architecture. This temple shows strong influence of the Vijayanagar architecture. A major feature, which makes this temple a unique one.

Read More
room 3

Pakshipathalam, lying in the Brahmagiri hill range is the abode of birds. As the name suggests, a wide variety of bird species can be found here. Pakshipathalam is located 1,740 metres above sea level and is very close to Therunelli temple in the Wayanad district of Kerala.

Read More
room 1
Wayanad – Beauty Devulged

Formed in the year 1980 on November 1st, Wayanad is a district in north-east Kerala. It was formed as Kerala’s 12th district. It’s the only district in Kerala that borders both the neighbouring states, Karnataka (Mysore, Chamarajanagar and Kodagu (also known as Coorg) districts) and Tamil Nadu (Nilgiris district).

Read More